Movie Summary [Boys Love 2]

Title: Boys Love Schoolboy Crush / BOYS LOVE 劇場版
Release Date: 2007
Language: Japanese
Eng Subs Available? – Yes


Cast:
Yoshikazu Kotani – Kairo Aoi
Astumi Kanno – Sora Amakami
Yuuki Kawakubo – Ichiyou
Kazunori Tani – Riku

Basic Plot Summary:
Kairo Aoi broke up with his girlfriend, he meets a young guy who…comforts him.
Aoi teaches at a boarding school, then one day a new student transfers into his class, Sora. Much to Aoi’s horror he instantly recognises the guy he spent the night with.
Aoi is worried that they will be found out that he had sexual contact with a students so he pushes him away but Sora wont let him go so easily…

What To Expect:
Cute storyline, sad moments but finishing with an uplifting end.

My Thoughts:

THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS

Although this film may seem like a continuation of the film Boys Love – it’s not. Yoshikazu Kotani plays the lead role again in this film, don’t make the mistake I made the first time and think he’s Taishin. Nope, the first film ended. Different character, same actor.

Yoshikazu Kotani is such a good actor who brings so much emotion to his role. The plot is good but without him there to guide you through,w well, the film just wouldn’t be the same.

Before I start with this I need to inform you that I am not someone who cries in movies – there has probably only ever been 3 or 4 times when a film has actually brought me to tears.But this film…(!).

The last half of it you will feel yourself going on an intense emotional roller-coaster.

I didn’t really take much notice of Ichiyo and Riku the first time I watched it. Well I did…I mean they played a huge part in the development of the story – but I never really payed much attention to their own relationship. I was clouded by my hatred for Riku to see anything other than his arrogant manipulative character. But I started to wonder, maybe Riku isn’t always such a bad guy. Ichiyo reveals that Riku was kind and tender – he used to comfort him whenever he cried. When Ichiyo asks him if he love him Riku replies “but you love him” (referring to Sora) not denying the fact that he loves him, he’s just unhappy that Ichiyo likes Sora so much. When Ichiyo dies, Riku blamed Sora…I thought his rage was understandable (even though it wasn’t exactly Sora’s fault) HOWEVER having said all that and defended Riku’s earlier behaviour (in terms of the bullying and the resentment towards Sora) Riku manages to destroy every ounce of sympathy I felt for him and I return to my original stance of hating everything about him.

Oh which reminds me: This film contains a horrific rape scene and other violent scenes. Plus casual nudity.

The ending.

Everything about this ending is so right. This film has something which Boys Love didn’t have. As the audience, we were left feeling optimistic and content that although these two guys have been through a really hard time, they were still happy with each other.
I will rate it
8/10

To read my commentary and the reasoning behind my rating click HERE (extreme spoilers ahead!)

Screencaps:

SPOILERS

[Original Post: 26th February 2012]
[Updated: 20th June 2013]
[Sent to wordpress: 17th April 2010]
Copyright held by the film company; claimed as fair use regardless.
Purpose of use: illustrate and display the film

One thought on “Movie Summary [Boys Love 2]”

Leave a comment