Movie Summary [Bad Romance]

Title: Bad Romance
Release Date: 2011
Language: Mandarin and French

English Subtitles: Yes

Cast:
(actor – character)
Hayden Leung – Cheng
Will Bay – Bass

François Chang –  François
Chan Chan – Yasmine
Macha Hsiao – Loulou

Nranus Chen – Xiaoya
Jason Lau – Cong

Basic Plot Summary:
There are 3 different stories of love told in this film…
– Single mother meets her friend’s younger cousin who is a university student.
– A young girl builds a relationship with a guy and girl from her French class.
– A young guy meets a man and falls head over heels in love with him.

My Thoughts:

May contain Spoilers!!!
And by ‘May’ I mean does!!!

I felt a little annoyed throughout the film, for me there was a lack of consistency with the filming: in regards to the single mother’s story (Xiaoya) it was really visual with the constant use of  flowers, the colours were very vivid and every scene seemed more intense whereas the other stories weren’t as detailed and seemed less visually interesting…I don’t really like “artsy” films especially if the ‘artsy-ness’ is inconsistent. But that’s just me.

The film took a while to get going, and if I’m being honest…I wasn’t totally impressed with it.
I found the ‘French class story’ really dull, but I did like the french…hehehe
For the record…the director and writer guy played François coincidentally they both have the same name! Stroke of luck! ehehe (jk jk, the director acts in this film, which isn’t common I dont think, so that’s good!)

The ‘gay story’ I’m sure is what you’re all here for. It was…okay,
In a nut shell, this adorable man (Bass) meets a guy that he met in a club 2 years ago (Cheng) the two get talking, Cheng already has a boyfriend but Bass gives his phone number anyway, they go out and flirt, Cheng’s boyfriend is an ass so Cheng asks if he can stay with Bass, he agrees but then changes his mind because he knows that Cheng only wants to stay with him to piss off his boyfriend.
Then Bass wakes up, opens to front door to see Cheng there with his packed bags, from then on Cheng abuses his kindness, his hospitality and his feelings.
From a perverted point of view: The sex scene between these two guys was wonderful!

Don’t get me wrong I didn’t hate the film! It’s just…I don’t really like this style of film..

Oh! This film contains 2…and a half sex scenes, younger viewers…proceed with caution… !
(Yes- there is only a half because we didn’t see anything…THAT intimate between Xiaoya and Cong!)

TO CONCLUDE: It’s not my type of film, I didn’t like all those flowers, the gay sex scene was fantastic, the French class story could have been waaaaay better and young viewers close your eyes during the sexy parts.

I rate this
3/10

Screencaps:
                        *~.SPOILERS.~*

[Posted to WP 3rd May 2022] Copyright held by the film company; claimed as fair use regardless.Purpose of use: illustrate and display the film

Leave a comment