Movie Summary [Eternal Summer]

Title: Eternal Summer – 盛夏光年
Release Date: 2006
Language: Mandarin.
English Subs available  – Yes

Cast:
Joseph Chang – Shane
Bryant Chang – Jonathan
Kate Yeung – Carrie

Basic Plot Summary:
As a child Jonathan was instructed to befriend his rebellious classmate, Shane, in hopes that Jonathan’s good behaviour would rub off on him. Ever since then the two have been close friends.
Now in High School, Carrie arrives from Hong Kong and transfers into their school. She befriends Jonathan and invites him out to skip school and go to Taipei. Their friendship develops as she learns the ‘truth’ about Jonathan. After meeting Carrie, Shane instantly becomes interested in her and asks her to be his girlfriend, she will accept on one condition: he gets into University.

What To Expect:
Love between friends vs Romantic love. Not particularly sad but there are some emotional moments.

My thoughts:

THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS

The first time I saw this film I was set on hating Carrie. I was so clouded by the fact that I wanted Jonathan and Shane to be together I didn’t care what happened to Carrie, I just didn’t want her around.

That was my problem, I seemed to really dislike the female characters especially when they threaten to break up the relationship – even if it is unintentional.

Now, however, I don’t hate her – I actually really sympathise with her. She isn’t a horrible person that I made her out to be the first time I watched it. So before I go on with anything else I must apologise for being so closed minded about this character.

In this film we see two different types of love. The love that Jonathan feels for Shane (and Shane for Carrie) and the love that Shane feels for Jonathan. The former is romantic love while is the latter shows closeness of a true friendship. Although Shane does love Jonathan it’s not the same type of love. I’m fully prepared to get all philosophical about this, but I’ll leave that for another time.

This film is very similar to the Japanese film  Like Grains Of Sand. If you liked that film then you will like this film and vice versa.

Oh there is a sex scene. It’s not particularly graphic but..it is there. If you don’t want to watch that then..your call.

I’m quite surprised at myself for not liking this film the first time round, but I like I said…clouded
I’m going to re-rate this film and give it:
7/10

To read the commentary and reason behind my rating go HERE (scroll to the bottom for the reason)

Screen caps:

*~.SPOILERS.~*

[Original Post: 27th February 2012]
[Updated: 24th June 2013]
  [Sent to wordpress: 21st April 2020]
Copyright held by the film company; claimed as fair use regardless.
Purpose of use: illustrate and display the film

2 thoughts on “Movie Summary [Eternal Summer]”

Leave a comment