Movie Summary [Boys Love]

Title: Boys Love / ボーイズ ラブ
Release Date: 2006
Language: Japanese

Eng subs avaliable? – Yes

Cast:

Yoshikazu Kotani – Taishin Mamiya
Takumi Saito – Noeru Kisaragi
Hiroya Matsumoto – Chidori.

Basic Plot Summary:
Taishin works as an editor for a magazine, he has been given his first important job –  to write an article on a young model, Noeru. Taishin takes Noeru out to interview him. But after Noeru sexually attacks him, Taishin tries to cut ties with him. Noeru lies to his agent saying that Taishin was rude to him and he needs to apologise to him face-to-face, Taishin is forced to go back. He sees Noeru with (a rather nasty looking) man and freaks out. Taishin is completely against Noeru’s ‘extra curricular activities’ and tries to reason with him.  As he learns more about the young model his interest in him increases…

What to expect:

This film contains violence – both physical and sexual.
Interesting storyline, developed characters and a sad* ending

*if you choose to interpret it that way

My thoughts:

THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS

This was the first ever Boys Love movie I ever watched. I watched it for the first time in May 2010 if I remembered correctly, as this was my first BL film it really has a special place in my heart. Even as I re-write this post without having watched it in years I can still remember what happened and how I felt.

The first time I watched this film I really enjoyed it, I found the storyline to be really original, however once you’ve seen a lot of BL films it’s quite easy to pick up on similar themes.

There is so much drama and misunderstanding in these types of films, there’s always one who takes things too far. A case of “If I can’t have him no one can!” syndrome.

In this film it’s Chidori.

At first I really didn’t like Chidori, but as I grow older I can sympathise with him – that doesn’t, however, excuse his actions.
Chidori is Noeru’s friend, he knows the most about him and they have been together since they were children. He stood by his friend when he was devastated by the death of Ken. He cares for Noeru –  he loves him so much, all he wants is for Noeru to accept him as his lover.

“I believe that in the end he will choose me”

I can understand how he feels threatened when Taishin enters Noeru’s life. Chidori has to stand by while the man he loves, love someone else.

Sadly, like most BL films – someone has to die.
Which leads us to the most heart wrenching part of the film.  My heart ached when they were together on the beach and  then Taishin carried the lifeless Noeru into the sea. There is no shame in admitting that you cried a little, especially during the final few scenes.

I realise I haven’t really mentioned Taishin and Noeru that much. My comments would just be superficial, something along the lines of “Noeru is so gorgeous and Taishin has a certain sharpness to his face that I just love”.
The acting is so good in the film, Takumi Saito and Yoshikazu Kotani deserve so much praise.

Overall, I would rate it

6/10

If you would like to read my commentary click HERE

Screencaps 

SPOILERS

.

[Original post: 26th February 2012]
 [Updated: 18th June 2013]
[Sent to wordpress: 10th April 2020]
Copyright held by the film company; claimed as fair use regardless.
Purpose of use: illustrate and display the film

5 thoughts on “Movie Summary [Boys Love]”

Leave a comment