Movie Summary [Antique]

Title: Antique / 서양골동양과자점 엔티크;

Release Date: 2008
Language: Korean (and French at times )


English Subs? – Yeaa!!!

Cast:
(actor – character) 
Kim Jae Wook – Min Sun Woo
Joo Ji Hoon – Kim Jin Hyuk
Yoo Ah In – Yang Ki Beom
Choi Ji Ho – Nam Soo Yeong
Andy Gillet – Jean-Baptise

Basic Plot Summary:

Kim Jin Hyuk decided to open a cake shop…even though he cant stand them, he believes thousands of beautiful women will flood into his shop. He hires a talented patissier, Sun-Woo. Ex-boxer Ki-beom and his childhood friend/bodyguard SooYeong.

Although seemingly careless and happy, each of the four men have unforgettable past they are afraid to face, but their secrets slowly being to unravel…

My Thoughts:

*~WARNING!!!~* 
May contain Spoilers!!! 

I love this movie!!! Sooooo much!!! 
I’ve seen it over and over again….little bit obsessive but….I DON’T CARE!

Ji-Hyuk was horrible to Sun-Woo when they were in high school…You dont throw cake at people, it’s just rude.

(Btw….Kim Jae Wook is GORGEOUS!!!!!!His hair ❤ A moment of silence for this beautiful man….okay thank you :D)
I love it when Jin-Hyuk and Sun-Woo meet again 😀
Sun-Woo is just so damn attractive men become infatuated by him…he is a “Gay of Demonic Charm”

I love that they didnt really recognise each other at first…and it took Sun-Woo longer to figure it out when he was the guy that had the crush!! Sun-Woo is so adorable when he has to serve those girls and he freaks out.

Even though this is in my list of Boys Love movies….it isn’t really based around a BL relationship, like the other ones.
This movie focuses on this kidnapping thingy…which is related to Jin-Hyuk as he was kidnapped and forced cake when he was younger…this experience still haunts him.
…In my heart I wished there was more focus on Sun-woo….oh well…

Jean-Baptise sucks. How dare he hurt Sun-Woo!!
My god i’m way too protective…
Although I did appreciate ‘l’élément français’ I could practice my French ;D 

I like Ji-Hyuk’s attempt at trying to get Sun-Woo to stay…bless him, he’s so transparent 🙂

Its a really great movie!
I rate 8.5 /10

Purely for the lacking in BL quality between Jin-Hyuk and Sun-Woo ;D and the 0.5 is because Kim Jae Wook is just so damn attractive!!!! 

Screen caps:
These are pretty much all of Jin-Hyuk and Sun-Woo :L

*~ SPOILERS ~*

For the record…This movie is based on the manga “Antique Bakery” (Seiyō Kottō Yōgashiten) Which has also been adapted into a Japanese drama.

The drama in my opinion isn’t that great….there Ono (who in the Korean movie is Sun-Woo) isn’t gay..he’s a straight guy who just cant talk to women…
Kinda disappointing.

I also found the anime version to be disappointing.
For me, the korean film version is the best!~

[Sent to wordpress: 11th September 2020]
Copyright held by the film company; claimed as fair use regardless.
Purpose of use: illustrate and display the film

7 thoughts on “Movie Summary [Antique]”

  1. Kim Jae Wook.. OMG I watched Coffe Prince and Mary Stayed out all night AND OMG He is one hot dude! Antique made me laugh so hard and his \”Gay of Demonic Charm\” is so.. PHUAHAHHAH … I love him so much right now :3

    Like

  2. Is the U.K. version of this movie different from the Korean one? I watched and love the Korean version but I saw the trailer for the U.K. release and it had scenes that I hadnt seen before. So I was just wondering….

    Like

  3. You know what…I have no idea! I've seen the UK trailer too and from what I can tell…these short scenes are added as kind of 'back story/character development' so you can tell what they're like before watching the film.I'm going to buy the UK version so if there is a difference I can tell you ^^

    Like

  4. After buying the UK version of Antique I can finally confirm that….this version is no different from the Korean version (^ᴗ^)

    Like

Leave a comment