Movie Summary [Kindan No Koi]

Title: Kindan no Koi / 禁断の恋 / Forbidden love
Release Date: 2008
Language: Japanese
English Subs Available? – Yes
Cast:
Masashi Mikami – Ritsu
Ryousuke Kato  -Shou
Naoki Yukawa – Ryou

Basic Plot Summary:
Shou has given up on everything….school, family…everything. He lives in an apartment with his younger brother, Ryou, and he never leaves.
Ritsu, a young designer (who used to tutor Shou) has arrived back from studying  in New York. Shou and Ryou’s father – Ritsu’s boss said that he could stay with his sons.
Shou is cold towards Ritsu….and he doesnt know why.
As the story progresses we find out that Shou’s innocent little brother is hiding a dark secret….

My Thoughts:

THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS

I really really enjoyed this film, but damn…it was weird!!
At first I was all like “Shou…?! Whats wrong with you? Why are you acting like this!?!! :((”
But at the end it all makes perfect sense. Our old friend “jealousy” rocks up again for this film.. *deep sigh*

So, incest…reeeeeeeally not my thing, I know it is quite a common trope in yaoi particularly between brothers (and twins oyy) but I really can’t deal with it, so in my mind these two are step brothers. I refuse to believe anything else ahaha – I don’t know if they are or they aren’t but that is the lense from which I’m viewing this relationship.

I liked Ryou at the beginning,  thought he was really sweet…. oh how wrong I was!
He seemed to be obsessed with his brother, he made Shou believe that Ritsu had slept with his father by photoshopping their heads to a photo, which devastated Shou.

When Shou and Ritsu reconcile it really hurts Ryou…and I actually feel bad for him.
I mean suuuure, Shou doesn’t know that his little brother has feelings for him, but still….there is a serious lack of consideration for other members in the household.

I hate the manager guy….whatever his name was.

How cute does Shou look when he’s wrapped in that white sheet?!?!! SO CUTE!

Okay lets talk about the ending….
LORD help us.  The awkward moment when you’re caught in bed with your male lover….eh?!

Everything would have been wonderful, but Ryou had to go and ruin it. Damn you and your jealousy!
So Shou and Ritsu were banned from seeing each other. Ritsu was fired blah blah blah.
Shou planned on leaving to go and live with Ritsu….the IDIOT told his brother.
Ryou confessed to Shou, telling him that he belongs to him….Shou was all like “Its wrong….” and ran off to see Ritsu.
Shou runs into a really pissed off Ryou….who hits him over the head with a vase, killing him (and me…emotionally)
Then we see Ritsu looking so happy about the shirt he completed from Shou, it’s like he can’t wait to see Shou’s reaction when he gives it to him…excuse me while I go to the corner and cry at the sadness of this scene as my heart is being ripped from my chest.
While Ryou is laying next to his dead brother surrounded by white lilies…

I cry

But anyway, I rate this:
6/10

Ryou ruined it for me….bless him 😦
He should have hit the manager guy over the head with the vase….just sayin’ I would have preferred that ending! 😛

To it took me forever to find Naoki Yukawa’s name!!! It was nowhere on the Internet! I had to find his Romanised name using the kanji that was given at the end credits. But whatever, you have it now 🙂 And I feel like I’ve done my job as researcher and informer

OHHH they should totally do a prequel ! I would have loved to have seen Home Tutor/Student romance: it would have been awkward, they finally realise their love for each other  and are extremely happy together….but then Ritsu has to go away, Shou tells him that he’ll wait for him *with tears in his eyes*. They embrace not wanting to let go of each other…but they have to…
THIS LEADS US TO KINDAN NO KOI!
I just want the backstory without jealousy 😦

Screencaps:

*~ SPOILERS ~*
Original Post > 11th March 2012
Moved to wordpress > 22nd May 2020
Copyright held by the film company; claimed as fair use regardless.
Purpose of use: illustrate and display the film

5 thoughts on “Movie Summary [Kindan No Koi]”

  1. yow.. hehe, he killed his brother… and its reasonable… because Ryou is obsess and yeah… bcuz that way, ryou will have him only… he even had sex with the freaking mnger for his sexual urges… hehe..

    Like

  2. i like the moviebut it's not reasonableif Ryou obsess with Ritsu and try to take away him from his own brother, i can understand that.but what kind of fool?he obsess with his brother and also he influence over the mananger guy and he manipulate and use him to make apart Sho and Ritsu. why?his role is so scary as he hide his own crook.cruel and jealous kind of mind under his lovely and childish face. he is the worst!

    Like

  3. Midalas ako manuod ng Japanese film and this one has an open ended story, If I have a chance to write the script, I have an idea how this story will continue hehe

    Like

Leave a comment