Movie Summary [Niji iro no Garasu]

Title: Niji iro no Garasu / 虹色の硝子 / Rainbow Coloured Glass
Release Date: 2009
Language: Japanese
English Subs? – Yes

Cast:
Kyousuke Hamao – Takumi
Daisuke Watanabe – Gii
Yukihiro Takiguchi – Akaike Shouzo
Yuta Takahashi – Suzuki Takeshi
Yuki Hiyori – Morita Toru
Kei Hosogai – Takabayashi Izumi

What to expect:Really soft BL (and by that I mean kissing and some shirtless-ness) , relatively sad story line, super adorable characters with super cute faces you just want to smoosh.

Basic Plot Summary:
This is the 2nd movie in the Takumi-kun Series!
Gii goes off to America and leaves Takumi alone for a bit.
On his return he greets Takumi with a huge kiss in front of all their classmates – which totally causes a ruckus and embarrasses Takumi. Takumi tries to talk to Gii about it but Gii dismisses him. He asks Takumi to invite the first year Morita Touru to their Halloween party. Going by how Gii has been behaving around him and how he insists Morita be at the party, Takumi gets jealous thinking that Gii prefers Morita..

My thoughts:

THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS

I do love to Takumi-kun series, so watching these films again is no chore to me!

If you guys read the original post that was uploaded in March 2012 then you would have seen that my main criticism was regarding Takumi.
I would like to take back everything bad I said about him and put all of that onto Gii. In the original post I said that what really annoyed me was Takumi getting jealous of Morita, but now I’m more annoyed that Gii was the one making him feel jealous!

The storyline, or what I feel was the main storyline, didn’t come into light until the film was nearly over. It’s revealed what Gii’s intentions with the Halloween party were and his reasons behind it. Now as sweet as they were, it doesn’t make up for the fact that he was intentionally hiding things from Takumi which caused Takumi to feel really sad and jealous!

As you may have noticed the actors are different. Both Takumi and Gii are played by different actors. Now although I really liked the old Takumi and Gii, I liked Kyousuke Hamao and Daisuke Watanabe more. As the film series progress they have so much more chemistry, its really nice to see them develop together. But I’ll save that for another time.

Suzuki and Morita’s story was so bitter-sweet. They didn’t have the time to get to know each other properly before Suzuki was cruelly snatched away by the jaws of death (little dramatic but hey, this film was dramatic!).
The ending was really lovely, heartbreaking, but lovely! Morita was unable to go into Suzuki’s hospital room but he made sure that Suzuki saw a rainbow before he died. So lovely *wipes single tear*

Last time I rated this film a 6 out of 10
and I’m going to stick with my original rating. Although I liked it better than the first Takumi-kun film, I have a strict rating system and a 7 means a lot to me so….shh~~

So that’s a
6/10

For extra feelings (and my god there are a lot of extra feelings) head over to my personal blog HERE to read all about that stuff~

For the manga visit the summary of ” Takumi-Kun 1 – Soshite, Harukaze ni Sasayaite

Screencaps:

*~ SPOILERS!!! ~*

Updated: 17th May 2015
Moved to wordpress > 12th May 2020
Copyright held by the film company; claimed as fair use regardless.
Purpose of use: illustrate and display the film

4 thoughts on “Movie Summary [Niji iro no Garasu]”

  1. Hi, your blog is awesome! Seriously! I am new to BL movies and just finished Takumi Kun. Love all of it! You understand Chinese and Japanese? That's the two languages I speak, plus some Korean and of course English. Look forward to more new posts. Thanks for the great website!

    Like

Leave a comment