Movie Summary [Bishonen]

Title : Bishonen / 美少年之戀
Release Date : 1998
Language: Cantonese
English Subs? – Yes

Cast:
Stephen Fung – Jet
Daniel Wu – Sam
Shu Qi – Kana

What To Expect
There is nothing particularly graphic, sex scenes are cut, there is also an implied rape scene (again, it has been cut)
Sad ending alert!

Basic Plot Summary:

Jet is a very handsome male prostitute who is incredibly narcissistic, he is fully entitled to be, because the man is gorgeous.When he was checking himself out in a window and young couple spot him. Jet awkwardly smiles and runs away, then has a change of heart and follows them.
Jet falls for Sam and the two begin hanging out…

My Thoughts

SPOILERS

The original post was on the 27th February 2012. It has been over 3 years since I wrote a post summarising this film. It was the worst post in the history of crappy posts, hopefully this update will be better and more informative!

I would firstly like to address how much of a ridiculous piece of stupid trash I was. This movie is really good!

I really liked the development of the two main guys, I thought it was really interesting. As the film progresses Sam’s history is revealed and his character starts making more sense. Jet changes his personality from an arrogant narcissist to a caring and innocent guy, just shows you how much he wants to be with Sam.

There was a serious web of connections in this film…everyone was connected somehow. Here is a breakdown:
First you have Jet who works and lives with Ching. Ching used to pine after a guy he worked in an office with called Fai. Fai, was with an aspiring singer called K.S. then K.S. and Fai parted ways and Fai became a policeman now going by Sam. Jet meets Sam and falls for him. Ching is still in love with Fai (aka Sam). Jet and Sam never officially get together, and K.S. is just floating about signing autographs and having sex,(he had sex with Jet once but I can assume he’s had multiple partners…)

I stated on my personal blog (extra feelings below) that I couldn’t really remember what this film was about but ohhhh boy. I remembered this film instantly when I saw Jet having dinner with Sam’s family. I remembered the ending. THE ENDING.

This film is really good.  If you read this post in 2012 then I’m sorry and please ignore everything I wrote. I really like this film! The ending was sad but it didn’t leave me emotionally distraught (looking at you Scud).

I will rate it

7/10
Originally I rated it 3/10 because, as previously stated, I am a pile of trash who doesn’t know good films when I watch them.

Extra Feelings: HERE

Screencaps

Update: 13th  May 2015
Moved to wordpress> 1st May 2020
Copyright held by the film company; claimed as fair use regardless.
Purpose of use: illustrate and display the film

2 thoughts on “Movie Summary [Bishonen]”

  1. \”Ridiculous piece of stupid trash\” you are so funny! I read your personal blog post and you make me laugh so much! I think i will watch this movie. The guy in the black looks so hot haha!

    Like

Leave a comment